Hi, we recently have a joint customer account in FreshDesk who now want to go their separate ways. Even though the mobile number has been deleted from the contact to create a new account for the other customer, any calls and text are still creating and logging under the previous joint account. We’re aware we can completely delete the contacts to start from scratch but we don’t want to loose previous tickets/communications with the customers. Is there a possibility to have a function allowing us to unmerge customers or tickets please?
Best answer by Sona_SenthilView original
Greetings from Freshworks community!
In Freshdesk, currently we do not have any option to un merge tickets or Contacts. Merging is an irreversible action. That is the reason this warning message will be shown while merging contacts:
However kindly note that, once you merge two contacts. The tickets then created will be under the Primary contact which was chosen while merging. You can then delete the Secondary contact email from the list and create as a new contact, since there will be no association with tickets for that contact.
I hope this clarifies.
Sounds like a good idea. Can you try posting it as an Idea on the community using the following link? That way users with the same requirement can upvote it.
Thank you Sona
In such cases, I recommend reaching out to Freshdesk's support team directly for assistance. They will be able to provide you with the most up-to-date vectous information on any available functions or solutions to unmerge customers or tickets while retaining the relevant data. Freshdesk's support team is best equipped to guide you through the process and address your specific requirements.