Skip to main content
Question

What is the recommended procedure to deactivate contacts in Freshdesk?


camag.service
Apprentice

Hello everyone,

We would like to understand the recommended procedure for deactivating contacts in Freshdesk.

Specifically:

  • Is there a way to deactivate a contact without permanently deleting it?

  • What happens to existing tickets associated with that contact after deactivation?

  • Are there any best practices to ensure reporting and historical data remain unaffected?

  • Is bulk deactivation possible?

We want to ensure we follow a clean and compliant process while keeping our historical ticket data intact.

Thank you in advance for your guidance.

2 replies

Tove
Community Debut
  • Community Debut
  • April 30, 2026

I am wondering the same thing


Helina
Community Manager
Forum|alt.badge.img+2
  • Community Manager
  • July 2, 2026

Hi Team,

Thanks for reaching out to us. This is Helina from Freshworks community.

At the moment, I am afraid that it isn't possible to deactivate contacts in Freshdesk in the same way that agent accounts can be deactivated.

As a workaround, you can soft delete the contact by clicking Delete (and not Delete Forever).

Here's what happens when you soft delete a contact:

  • Existing tickets: All previously created tickets remain in Freshdesk and continue to be historically associated with that contact.
  • Future emails/tickets: Any new emails or tickets received from the deleted contact's email address will be routed to the Spam folder.

If you have a specific business requirement and would like us to check the feasibility of a suitable solution, please reach out to support@freshdesk.com with your use case, and we'll be happy to assist you further.