Skip to main content
Closed

Ability to switch off company without deleting it

Related products:Freshdesk
  • Jan 30, 2015 2:27 PM UTC
  • 4 replies
  • 33 views

If I have a company in freshdesk, and that company stops being a client, we would like to be able to switch off the company.

 

That way the contacts still exist (and there could still be tickets assigned to those users) but they will not appear in the Requestor field when we are searching.

4 replies

  • Community Debut
  • Mar 20, 2015 5:15 AM UTC

What is the normal process for ending a companies interaction with Freshdesk?


  • Author
  • Contributor
  • Mar 20, 2015 9:19 AM UTC

To be honest, I don't know! 


There is the option to Delete a company, but deleting a company leaves the contacts in Freshdesk without a company associated. So, they still appear in the suggested contacts list when you're manually logging a ticket. I don't know whether existing tickets from them keep their association with the company once it is deleted as we haven't had to do it "in anger" yet.


Either way, we don't want to delete the company entirely as we still want to have a record of them as a former client (and their previous tickets are useful for reference). We would just like to "switch them off" so that the contacts aren't suggested any longer.


  • Community Debut
  • Mar 20, 2015 9:34 AM UTC
I was told a workaround for the contact login was to change the email address to something else. That way contacts are there and Company is there. There really needs to be an option to make a company "inactive" and then blocks or switches all Contacts off.

  • Contributor
  • Feb 14, 2018 4:45 PM UTC

My workaround has been to change the passwords on the authenticated users.  That's fine for a small customer, but not a big one.  Inactivation of the company indeed is the way to go.  Inactivation for individual contacts, too, in case they quit.